Designated Substance Survey

There are currently eleven (11) designated substances as identified by the Ontario Occupational Health and Safety Act. These substances are acrylonitrile, arsenic, asbestos, benzene, coke oven emissions, ethylene oxide, isocyanates, lead, mercury, silica, and vinyl chloride. Each substance has a specific regulation detailing the amount of a substance workers may be exposed to and means of controlling and measuring the substance in the work place.  Building owners and employers are responsible for identifying the Designated Substances present on their property.  A Designated Substance Report must be made available to contractors and employees under the Ontario Occupational Health and Safety Act and the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board.  

A Designated Substance survey includes a visual inspection of the property to determine the presence, type, characteristics and condition of any Designated Substances on site.  Samples of suspect materials are collected as per applicable regulations and submitted for laboratory analysis.  

The final Designated Substance report includes identification of the type, location, and concentration of any Designated Substances located within the property.  This allows appropriate measures to protect the safety and health of any persons working on the site.